Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award

Young Kentuckians are inspiring. They exhibit the values, skills and enthusiasm that are the hallmarks of engaged, responsible citizens. Yet behind each of them is an unsung hero who invested his or her own talents and energy into the success of this state and its youth.

The Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award highlights and rewards these individuals for their extraordinary efforts to promote civic engagement among Kentucky students.

Any P-16 teacher, school administrator, educational leader, legislator or community organization leader who has made notable contributions toward promoting or implementing civic learning to prepare students to be engaged and responsible citizens is eligible for the Award. One finalist is selected from each Kentucky Sweet 16 region, and prizes, including a plaque for each finalist and a $500 award to be used toward resources or equipment for the winner's school or program, will be presented at a ceremony during the KHSAA Men's Basketball Sweet 16 Tournament in Lexington.

The 2013 Kentucky Outstanding Civic Education Leadership Award recipient was Rick Blackwell from Mercy Academy in Louisville. Other finalists were Marshall Ward (Calloway County High School), Michael T. Baker (Hancock County Industrial Foundation, Lisa White (Russellville Independent Schools), Timothy Holman (DuPont Manual High School), Lindsay Duke (Grant County High School), Brian McDowell (Mason County Middle School), Helen Williams (Hazard High School) and Kelly J. Wilson (Bath County Schools).

This opportunity to recognize leaders who are devoted to ensuring a bright future for our state and help them continue their good work would not be possible without the Secretary of State's co-sponsors, the Adminstrative Office of the Courts and the Kentucky Department of Education. In addition to a financial contribution, the AOC judges the applications/nominations.

If you are interested in applying or nominating someone for the award, please download the application/nomination packet. Please contact the office at (502) 564-3490 or via email if you would like any additional information.