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Tax Lists (1841-1860): An Overlooked Resource
for Kentucky History and Land Titles

By Kandie P. Adkinson

Administrative Specialist, Land Office Division

Office of the Kentucky Secretary of State

The Second in a Series of Articles Regarding the
Significance of Tax List Research

Shortly before Thanksgiving 2009 a researcher
stopped by the Land Office and requested copies of
land patents for family study during the holidays.
During the course of our conversation, he stated he
had accessed tax lists and had found the information
as significant as census records. He said “Tax lists
bring life to my ancestors. By studying annual tax
reports I am learning more about my family and their
way of life.” Indeed, tax records may add flesh to the
all too often bare bones of ancestral research.

In the Summer 2009 issue of Kentucky Ancestors'
we explored the development of Kentucky tax lists
from 1792 to 1840. It is imperative that genealogists
and historians realize tax lists did not disappear in the
mid-1800s. Tax collection is very much alive as we
are reminded every April 15th. Although some of the
information requested by commissioners of revenue
has changed over the years, the fundamentals have
remained the same, i.e. the name of the taxpayer, his
or her county of residence, and a report of taxable
property.

In this article we will examine Kentucky tax
laws from 1841 through 1860. Researchers are
encouraged to note the use of tax incentives for
economic development in Kentucky, business
licensing, and the commonwealth’s “Sinking Fund”

(aka “Rainy Day Fund”).

Excerpts from Kentucky Legislation & Revised Statutes
Regarding the Tax Process

Note: The following are selected abstracts from
certain Acts of the Kentucky General Assembly and
Kentucky Revised Statutes. These and other Acts
regarding the collection of the “Permanent Revenue”
and county levies, as well as codified statutes and
regulations, may be researched in their entirety by
visiting the Supreme Court Law Library, the Martin
E Schmidt Research Library at the Thomas D. Clark
Center for Kentucky History, or the Department for
Libraries & Archives Research Room, all in Frankfort,
Kentucky.

1840 (4 January)

Printed forms for tax assessors were amended

by this act. Column headers were designated as
follows: “Persons’ names; Land (acreage); County;
Watercourse; Value of each tract; (number of) Town
Lots; Value of each town lot; (number of) White
males over 21 years of age; (number of) Slaves over
16 years; Total slaves; Value of slaves; Horses &
mares; Value of Horses and mares; Mules; Value of
Mules; Jennies; Value of Jennies; Cattle; Value of
Cattle over fifty dollars; Stores (Note: This column
often included mills.); Value of stores; Carriages;
Value of carriages; Studs, Jacks, & Bulls; Rates per
season; (number of ) Tavern Licenses; (number of)
Children between seven and seventeen years old;
Value under the equalizing law; and Total Value.”
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1841 (17 February)

This act was designed to increase the resources of
the Sinking Fund. Sheriffs were ordered to collect
and pay into the public treasury an additional rate
of $.15 upon every $100.00 worth of property liable
to be assessed under the current revenue laws. Lands
of non-residents were to be charged and collected

at the same rate. The additional tax money was “to
be carried to the credit of the Sinking Fund and to
be applied to the payment and interest of the debts
now owing by the State of Kentucky for works of
internal improvement.” Payments could not be made
to contractors whose work was incomplete. In lieu
of commissions allowed sheriffs for collecting other
taxes, sheriffs were allowed no more than six percent
for the collection of taxes designated for the Sinking
Fund. The act was ordered to expire two years after
passage; at that time the tax would decrease to $.10
per $100.00.

1842 (18 January)

From and after the first day of August 1842 no
justice of the peace within the commonwealth could
be appointed or act as commissioner of tax. No
constable could act as commissioner of tax after 1
August 1842.4

1842 (17 Fehruary)

Non-residents who had purchased or owned part of
any tract of land that had been forfeited to the state
for non-payment of taxes could redeem their land by
the payment of his or her fair proportion of the taxes
due on said tracts, including accrued interest at the
time of payment.

1843 (10 March)

If any county court failed to appoint commissioners
of tax or if the commissioners of tax, after their
appointment, had failed to act, the legislature
directed the sheriff or collector of such county to
collect the revenue upon the last list of taxable
property returned to the court. The act further
directed the sheriff or collector to report to the
county court any changes or transfers of property that
may have occurred since the last tax collection.
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A tax of $1.00 was to be assessed on each gold
watch; $1.00 on each carriage or barouche kept as

a pleasure carriage; $.50 on each buggy; $1.00 on
cach piano; $.50 on gold spectacles; and $.50 on
silver lever watches. The articles were to be reported
to the commissioners of tax at the same time, and

in the same manner, as other taxable property was
listed. The taxes were to be collected and accounted
for by the sheriffs at the same time, and in the same
manner, as other taxes. The act added the following
provision, “Silversmiths and jewelers that keep gold
watches for sale as merchandise shall not be required
to enter them for taxation; manufactories of carriages,
and pianos, or persons keeping them for sale, and
not for their own use,” were not required to list those
properties for taxation.®

1844 (February 16) !

This act confirmed the power of the sheriffs within
the commonwealth to collect the county levy and
revenue tax within their respective counties as long
as they remained in office. Any sheriff who failed or
refused to execute bond for the collection of the tax
or levy forfeited the office of sheriff. The governor
was empowered to fill the vacancy by appointment.
The removed sheriff could continue to act as sheriff
until his successor was qualified. If any county court
failed to appoint commissioners of tax or if the
appointed commissioners failed to act, the county
court clerk was directed to furnish the sheriff a copy
of the last commissioners’ books returned to his
office. If the books had been lost or mislaid or if the
sheriff could not obtain a copy of the tax books from
the county court clerk, it became the duty of the
second auditor to furnish the sheriff a copy of the last
tax commissioners  books filed in the second auditor’s
office. The sheriff was then ordered to proceed to
collect the revenue and county levies by using the
auditor’s listing of taxable properties. If the office of
sheriff was vacant or if there was no collector of the
revenue, this act directed the sergeant of the general
court to perform tax collection duties.”

1845 (January 22)

Apparently the returns to the second auditor were
being made “without proper attention to the
calculations, therefore injuring the commonwealth.”
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This listing, required by law, is recorded near the tabulation pages of the Mercer County tax commissioners’ hook
in 1853. Researchers are encouraged to study the entire county report for each tax year. (Microfilm, KDLA)
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This act directed the county court clerk to

examine all extensions and calculations by the tax
commissioners and to certify each page was a correct
balance sheet. If the problems persisted, the second
auditor was ordered to submit the defective tax books
to the governor for his inspection and possible return
to the clerk for correction. The county court clerk
was chargeable for all expenses incurred.®

1848 (January 25)

This act equalized the compensation for the
collection of the revenue tax by declaring the revenue
tax for the preceding year was due and payable into
the state treasury on 15 January in each and every
year. Any sheriff failing or refusing to pay the same on
or before that day was chargeable with, and required
to pay, the legal interest on the same from the time

it was due until it was paid. The second auditor was
in charge of collecting the sheriff’s late taxes and any
accrued interest. The act also authorized the sheriff to
deposit his revenue in any established bank or branch
bank. The deposit was to be credited to the branch
bank in Frankfort for the benefit of the treasury of
the commonwealth, on account of revenue collected
by , sheriff for the county of , for
the year ; and any sum so deposited was held
and regarded as payment into the treasury unless the
governor proclaimed, ordered, or directed otherwise.
Collectors of the revenue tax were paid the following
commissions: for the first $3000 collected and paid
into the treasury, a commission of 7.5%, and all sums
over $3000, a commission of 5 percent.

1848 (February 28)

(Note: Although this act does not pertain to the
“Permanent Revenue,” it exemplifies records filed
with the county clerk in the mid-1800s.) From and
after the first day of January, 1849, all agents for

the sale of drugs, medicines, or nostrums belonging
to persons outside the commonwealth and sent to
this state for sale, were directed to render a current
account (upon oath) showing the full amount of
such drugs, medicines, or nostrums sold every three
months to the county court clerk. Agents were
ordered to pay the clerk 5 percent on the full amount
of said sales. Any agent failing to comply with the
new law was subject to a fine of $50 recoverable in

68 | Kentucky Ancestors

circuit court upon motion of the commonwealth’s
attorney or by an indictment of the grand jury.
Additionally all peddlers and itinerant vendors of
pills, medicines, and nostrums within Kentucky
were required to take out a license in the counties
in which they worked as were the other peddlers of
merchandise.’

1848 (March 1)

County courts that did not meet the first Monday

in January to appoint commissioners of tax were
permitted to appoint commissioners during the
preceding December court term. This act also
directed the commissioners of tax in each county of
the commonwealth for the year 1849, and every year
thereafter, to ascertain and report the number of free
white persons that were blind and the deaf and dumb
in their respective districts.

1849 (February 27)

This legislation amended the 15% section of “An Act
to Amend the Several Laws Establishing a Permanent
Revenue approved 31 January 1814.” No longer
could the tax laws be construed to require itinerant
retailers of silks or silken goods, manufactured in
Kentucky, to apply for, and obrtain a license required
for peddlers or itinerant retailers of goods, wares and
merchandise. Before any person could vend any
silks or silken goods under the new legislation, they
were directed to procure a license from the county
clerk or mayor of a city in which the silks or silken
goods were manufactured. The license set out the
name or names of the manufacturer or manufacturers
with a certification by the person giving the license
that the vendors were known to him and that the
manufactory of said silks and silken goods was
situated in the county or city in which the license
was issued. The certified license authorized persons
to vend their silks anywhere in Kentucky without
paying for vendors’ licenses in each county. Any

silk vendor who sold goods without the prescribed
license was subject to the same penalties as peddlers
dealing without a license. Also, in 1849 the General
Assembly passed legislation that required all tavern
keepers, coffee house keepers, and all other retailers
of spirituous liquors to purchase a license from the
county court clerk to operate their business. The cost



of the license was $10.00; it was valid for no longer
than one year."!

1849 (Fehruary 28)

Sheriffs were ordered to collect and pay into the
Public Treasury an additional two cents upon every
$100 of taxable property for the year 1849 to pay
the expenses of the approaching (constitutional)
convention and to supply the deficiency, if any exist,
from the alleged defalcation of the late Treasurer.
Section II of the same legislation stated previous
sums paid by owners and keepers of any itinerant
menagerie, circus, or theatrical performances were
amended to require a $1.00 daily license fee, payable
in advance, for each 100 voters in the county in
which the exhibition, show, or performance was
held. The tax could not exceed $10 per day in

the city of Louisville. In Section III the legislature
stated no merchant or vendor of any goods, wares,
or merchandise, was permitted to sell spirituous
liquors provided by law until he or they purchased a
license from the county court clerk. The cost of the
license, valid for twelve months, was $5.00. Section
V required all proprietors of nine or ten pin alleys to
pay the county court clerk an annual fee of $10.00.
The proprietors were ordered to post bond with the
county clerk in a penalty of $100, with good security,
to be approved by said clerk, conditioned that “no
gaming, riotous, or disorderly conduct should be
allowed upon said alley or in the building containing
the same.” Licenses were also ordered for taverns, and
standing studs, jacks or bulls."?

1850 (11 June)

Article VIII, Section 22, of Kentucky’s third
constitution directed the general assembly to appoint
not more than three persons, “learned in the law”
to revise and arrange Kentucky’s civil and criminal
statutes. Those commissioners, C. A. Wickliffe, S.
Turner, and S. S. Nicholas, assigned legislation to
specific chapters. For example, laws pertaining to
“Revenue and Taxation” were included in Chapter 83
of the “Kentucky Revised Statutes” in 1852. During
current legislative sessions, the Kentucky House of
Representatives and Senate study pre-filed bills in
designated sub-committees and on the floor of each

chamber. Bills may be amended during the process.

Final bills approved by both chambers are then

submitted to the Governor for his/her signature, veto,

or passage without signature. If vetoed, the legislature

may override the governor’s decision; the governor’s

veto message is recorded in the governor’s executive

journal maintained by the secretary of state. All ‘
enrolled bills that are approved by the legislature are
filed with the secretary of state for official recording.
During the codification process the statutes reviser
for Kentucky merges the new legislation into the
existing chapters and sections of the Kentucky
Revised Statutes (or a new chapter or section is
created). Regulations allow legislation (statutes) to be
enhanced without the legislative process as long as the
regulations do not compromise the intent of the law.
Kentucky administrative regulations (KAR) usually
affect the implementation of existing statutes.

1851 (Fehruary 17)

From and after 1851, tax assessors in Kentucky were
required to list the names of each of the deaf and
dumb children between the ages of seven and twenty-
one, inclusive, and the name of the post office nearest
their place of residence in the back of the tax book."

1851 (March 8)

From and after January 10, 1852, tax commissioners
were to “open a column in their respective books

in which shall be listed the number of hogs over six
months old, in each of the counties in this state.”™

1852 (January 9)

This act required tax commissioners to list in the
back of their tax books the names and ages of all
blind children under twenty years of age in their
respective counties, together with the name of the
post office nearest their residence.

1852 (July 1)

Excerpts regarding tax lists in Chapter 83 of the

Kentucky Revised Statutes include:

e Form of Tax Book: “Persons’ Names; Land
(acreage); County; Watercourse; Value of Land;
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Although they had no individual property to report, many tax commissioners identified “white males over 21,” any female or minor who was head-
of-the-household, and “Free Blacks over 21.” In 1858, soldiers at the Military Asylum in Harrodshurg were identified on page one of the tax report.
(Notations in the “blind” field suggest these residents may have been visually impaired.) The first column identifies the number of “White Males
over 21,” the second column identifies the number of “Slaves over 16,” followed by the “Total Number of Slaves” column, “Number of Horses,”
and “Value of Horses.” (Note: Information is recorded in other columns on the second page of the report.) 1858 Tax List, Mercer County, Kentucky.

(Micrafilm, KDLA)

(number of) Town Lots; (number of) White
Males over twenty-one years of age; (number
of) Slaves over sixteen years; Total Slaves; Value
of Slaves; (number of) Horses and Mares; Value
of Horses and Mares; (number of) Mules;
Value of Mules; (number of) Jennies; Value of
Jennies; (number of) Cattle; Value of Cattle
over $50; (number of) Stores; Value of Stores;
(number of) Studs, Jacks & Bulls; Rates per
season; (number of) Tavern Licenses; (number
of) Children between six and eighteen years
old; (number of) Free White Persons that are
Blind; (number of) Free White Persons that

are Deaf and Dumb; (numbet of) Hogs over
six months old; Value under the Equalization
Law; and Total value at $.17 per $100. Value
of Pleasure Carriages, Barouches, Buggies, Stage
Coaches, Gigs, Omnibuses, and other Vehicles
for Passengers; Value of Gold, Silver, and other
Metallic Watches and Clocks; Value of Gold and
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Silver Plate; Value of Pianos; and Total Value at
$.30 per $100.”

Ten cents of the tax was directed toward the
“ordinary expenses of government”; five cents for
the use of the sinking fund; and two cents for the
support of common schools.

Vehicles for the transportation of persons or
passengers, “by whatever name known or called,
including the harness thereof, whether in use

or not, were taxed $.30 per $100 of their value,
except those vehicles kept for sale in the store or
shop of any merchant or manufacturer. Those
vehicles were taxed as other estate owned by the
merchant or manufacturer.

Taxes were due and payable in the same year in
which the estate was assessed.

The commonwealth had a lien for the revenue
tax and county levy on the estate of each person
assessed for taxation. The lien could not be
defeated by sale or alienation.



Exempt from taxation in 1852: houses of public
worship; lands held under the laws of Kentucky
by any denomination of Christians or profession
of religion, for devotional purposes; land upon
which any seminary of learning was erected; any
custom house, post office building, courtroom, or
other necessary offices or hospitals built or owned
by the United States, including the lots or ground
on which they were erected; and all libraries,
philosophical apparatus owned by any seminary
of learning, and all church furniture and books,
for the object and uses of religious worship.
Lands and town lots were valued for taxation,
including the improvements thereon, without
reference to conflicting title.

The duties of tax commissioners began 10
January each year. Lists were to be completed and
returned to the county court clerk by 1 May each
year.

Before a taxpayer could be declared delinquent,
the assessor, or his appointed assistant, was
required to visit the taxpayer’s residence for a
listing of his taxable property. If the taxpayer was
absent, the assessor, or his assistant, was directed
to leave a written notice with some white person
of the household over sixteen years of age, of the
time and place in the county where the taxpayer
should meet the assessor to submit his list of
property. If the taxpayer failed to attend to submit
the list, the assessor was directed to report the
person as “delinquent” to the county court clerk.
Delinquent taxpayers faced a fine not exceeding
$100 and costs, and could have been subjected to
the payment of three times the amount of the tax
due upon his estate.

After the tax book was completed and submitted
to the county court clerk, the clerk certified the
amount due the assessor for his services and
submitted the statement to the State Auditor.
The amount allowed could not exceed $.08

for each list of taxable estate. The bill for the
commissioner’s services was paid by the state
treasurer upon the warrant of the auditor.

All estate taxed according to its value was valued
in gold and silver, as of the tenth day of January
preceding. The person owning or possessing the
same on that day was required to list the property
with the assessor and remained bound for the tax
for the tax year.

Slaves were listed for taxation by their owners.
Assessors administered an oath to taxpayers
affirming they had submitted a full and complete
list of their taxable estate “on the tenth day of
January last” and there had been no effort to
remove or hide property to evade tax payment.
At the same time, taxpayers were required, upon
oath, to declaré a sum of their worth from all
other sources, exclusive of the estate listed for
taxation. This included bank stock, estate owned
and taxed in another state, crops growing on the
land listed for taxation; articles manufactured in
the family for its use; and provisions and poultry
on hand for domestic consumption. Debts owed
by the taxpayer, and declared in good faith, could
be deducted. (Note: The worth of this property
was listed in the “Value under the Equalizing
Law” column.)

Merchants and grocers were directed to list their
goods and groceries on hand on 10 April in each
year. On oath, they stated the full value thereof,
exclusive of the articles manufactured by families
in Kentucky.

When the book was returned to the county clerk,
the assessor listed the names of all tavern keepers,
owners or keepers of stud horses, jacks and bulls
who had obtained a license under this chapter.
The list was copied in the book returned to the
auditor.

In the year 1857, and every eighth year thereafter,
assessors were directed to include the number

of qualified voters resident within their county
in their tax book. The report also included the
number of voters in cities or towns with separate
representation assigned by either house of the
general assembly. (Note: Many of the assessors
added a column marked “Voter” to their tax list
forms to aid in their tabulations.)

The assessor was required to “make out his tax
book in a fair and legible hand, in alphabetical
order, and add the amount of valuation of the
estate in each column, also the aggregate thereof,
and prove its accuracy” before he returned the
book.

The judge and county court clerk constituted a
board of supervisors of tax for each county. They
examined the tax books, corrected any errors by
the assessor, and received omitted lists of taxable
property submitted by taxpayers.
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o  After the tax book was examined and approved,
the county clerk made two copies—one for the
sheriff and the other for the state auditor. The
sheriff’s copy was delivered on or before 1 June
each year; the auditor’s copy was transmitted or
mailed to Frankfort by 1 July each year.

o The sheriff, by virtue of his office, was deemed
the collector of the revenue. He was bound
by oath to “collect, account for, and pay into
the treasury of Kentucky, and to other persons
entitled thereto, according to law, all taxes and
public dues.” .

e The sheriff collected taxes from and after 1 June
each year.

e The sheriff was authorized to sell the property
owned by delinquent taxpayers.

o The sheriff was required to account for and pay
all taxes and other public moneys for which he
was bound, into the state treasury by 15 January
each year.

o According to the 1852 Kentucky Revised

Statutes, lands owned by non-resident proprietors

were to be listed in a book maintained by

the auditor of public accounts. If not listed,

the land was forfeited and title reverted to

the commonwealth. Forfeited lands could be
redeemed by the owner, or any other person for
him, within one year, by paying the amount of
tax for which it was forfeited and the interest on
the same, at the rate of 100 percent per annum.'

1856 (Fehruary 5)

An additional tax of $.03 was imposed for the year
1856 and each succeeding year upon each $100

in property value for the purpose of increasing the
common school fund. The tax was to be levied,
collected, paid over, and appropriated for the benefit
of common schools as the tax of $.02, heretofore
imposed, was levied, collected, paid over and
appropriated."” . ;

1858 (February 16) & 1860 (February 28)

A board of supervisors was authorized to review
county tax assessments and hear testimony by
witnesses regarding valuation.'®
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1860 (2 March)

Chartered cemeteries of the commonwealth were
exempted from taxation for state revenue.” Note:
Access “Acts of the Kentucky General Assembly”
through the mid-1890s for legislation incorporating
Kentucky businesses, including cemeteries.

1860 (2 March)

Any citizen who had resided in the state for five years
could peddle tinware, stoneware, tar, and turpentine
without a license if the tinware and stoneware had
been manufactured in Kentucky.

Tax assessors were directed to ascertain and return
with their lists, the number of free persons of color
in their respective counties; the lists were to be
reported in a separate column. The effective date was
1 January 1861.%°

1860 (March 3)

The tax code was ordered to be amended to allow
county court clerks 1.5¢ for copying each line across
the page, including the name of the person and the
last number of total value, for the tax books created
for the sheriff and the state auditor.?!

KEY POINTS TO REMEMBER

e Tax Lists may include more than one district
in a county. (Hint: Once you have located
an ancestor on a tax list, observe the names
of other taxpayers and the handwriting of
the tax commissioner. By following names
and handwriting through subsequent tax
years, you'll quickly find the district you are
researching.)

e When they included the names of females
and minors who were the head of a household
and the names of free blacks and white males
over the age of twenty-one who had no
taxable property to report, commissioners
transformed the tax assessment process into
an unofficial census report.

o Generally, commissioners of tax assessed



taxable property and the county sheriff,
or other appointee, collected the money.
The county clerk copied the tax book for
various officers, including the state auditor of
public accounts. Access “Acts of the General
Assembly” to determine changes in procedure
and penalties when defaults occurred. (Note:
From 1810 to 1831 taxpayers submitted their
lists of taxable property to “some fit person in
the bounds of each militia company” rather
than a tax commissioner.)

Names of tax commissioners, or other officers
appointed to collect taxes, are included in the
tax records, usually in the certifications at the
close of each report.

Legislation affects tax list headers; just as
legislation affects today’s tax forms. For
example, Information gathered by tax
commissioners in 1841 was not as detailed as
information gathered in1860. Tax lists are not
“Once you have seen one list, you have seen
them all” types of records!

Tax commissioners were listing properties
for state taxation; the taxes were deposited in
the state’s general fund. This process allowed
taxpayers to list lands they owned in other

counties when they listed their property in

their county of residence. If an individual
“disappears” from a tax list for several years,
check the other counties for which he reported
land ownership. He may have relocated. Lands
owned in multiple counties can also prove
helpful when the taxpayer sells properties.
For example, if an ancestor’s deeds were lost
in a courthouse disaster, a researcher may find
the same ancestor, and possibly his current
residence, by accessing the records of other
counties (in which he owned land).

Lands reported on tax lists may be leased or
may be in the patenting process.
Non-residents had to pay taxes for any lands
they owned in Kentucky. Early tax laws

stated non-residents could list their property
with the tax commissioner of any Kentucky
county; many, but not all, opted to include
their properties on the Franklin County

tax lists as Franklin County is the seat of
government for Kentucky. (Usually there is a
notation “non-resident” beside the taxpayer’s

name. Their state and county of residence
may also be included. )

o Acts of the Kentucky General Assembly must be

researched by legislative session. At this time
there is no overall index, except for Littells
Index for years immediately after statehood.
Acts may be sorted into two chapters:
“General? (laws that pertain statewide)

and “Local” (laws that pertain to local
governments and individuals). Resolutions
of the general assembly may also provide
historical and genealogical information.
County clerks record county history. Records
are not limited to marriage bonds and
consents, deeds, and wills. Researchers are
encouraged to access business filings, such

as Articles of Incorporation and license
applications, estate settlements, election
results, military discharge papers (if available),
and county minute books. If distance
prevents on-site research at the county clerk’s
office, contact the clerk to determine if staff
is available for personal research. If not, the
clerk may suggest a professional researcher or
he (or she) may recommend the services of
the local historical or genealogical society.
Legislation described in this article is provided
for historical research purposes. Check the
Kentucky Revised Statutes for current laws
affecting taxation and business licensing,
The word “estate” may be interchanged

with “taxable property” for both living and
deceased taxpayers.

In the “Value under the Equalizing Law”
column, taxpayers reported the value

of other properties they owned, such as

bank stocks or land in other states. (Note:
Taxation on hundreds of acres of first-rate
farmland probably exceeded the taxation

on an improved city lot. Additionally, “city
dwellers” didn’t have as much livestock

to report. The Equalizing Law required
everyone, including city residents, to list
taxable properties that were not specified on
the tax form. This leveled, or equalized, the
playing field for all taxpayers until printed
forms were expanded to require a listing of all
taxable properties.

Research all the pages in the tax book. You
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Next article in this series:

may find certain listings required by law

in the back of the book as well as names of
taxpayers omitted from district reports.

Tax list records for many Kentucky counties
range from the year the county was created to
the mid-1880s. Research county formation
dates to determine names of “mother
counties.” (Example: Boyle County residents
will be listed on Mercer County tax lists until
1842 when Boyle County was formed.)

“Kentucky Tax Lists: Revenue

Collection during the Civil War”
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Kentucky Tax Lists, 1841-1860 (Microfilm)

Martin F. Schmidt Research Library
Thomas D. Clark Center for Kentucky History

(Note: This list includes all KHS microfilm that contains
Kentucky tax lists for the years indicated. Counties not
listed either did not exist by 1860 or our holdings do

not contain tax lists for the years 1841-1860. Numbers
below each county indicate microfilm rolls.)

Adair County — 1802-1878 (tax lists for 1832-1834
and 1839 are missing)
73-0001 — 73-0006

Allen County — 1815-1878
73-0006 — 73-0010

Anderson County — 1827-1830, 1833, 1835, 1837
73-0010 — 73-0010A

Ballard County 1834-1884
73-0011 - 73-0013

Barren County — 1799-1872
73-0014 — 73-0019

Bath County — 1811-1847, 1870
73-0020 — 73-0021

Boone County — 1799-1878
73-0021 — 73-0026

Bourbon County — 1787-1878 (1794 and 1798
missing)

73-0027 — 77-0034

Boyle County — 1849-1876
73-0036 — 73-0038

Bracken County — 1797-1878
73-0038 — 73-0042

Breathitt County — 1840-1862, 1865-1867
73-0041 — 73-0042

Breckinridge County — 1800-1875
73-0042 —73-0046

Bullitt County — 1797-1875 (incomplete)
73-0046A — 73-0049

Butler County 1811-1875 (1824 is on reel 73-0047
with Bullitt County tax lists)
73-0049 - 73-0052

Caldwell County — 1809-1848
73-0052 — 73-0054

Calloway County — 1823-1875
73-0054 — 73-0057

Campbell County — 1795-1875
73-0057 —73-0065

Carroll County — 1840-1875
73-0065 —73-0067

Carter County — 1839-1875
73-0067 — 73-0069

Casey County — 1807-1885
73-0069 - 73-0072
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Christian County — 1797-1817, 1819-1831, 1833,

1835-1839, 1848, 1855-1857, 1868, 1875
73-0072 — 73-0076

Clark County — 1793-1839, 1851-1874  °
73-0077 — 73-0081

Clay County — 1807-1809, 1811-1826, 1828-32,
1834-1838, 1840-1875
73-0082 — 73-0085

Clinton County — 1837-1875
73-0085 —73-0086

Crittenden County — 1842-1875
73-0086 — 73-0088

Cumberland County — 1799-1805, 1833, 1837,
1840-1875
73-0088A, 73-0089

Daviess County — 1815-1831, 1833-1837,
1939-1848, 1850-1875
73-0090 — 73-0095

Edmonson County — 1825-1831, 1833-1838,
1840-1875
73-0096 — 73-0097

Estill County — 1808-1875
73-0098A — 73-0100

Fayette County — 1787-1797, 1799-1831, 1833-1875

73-0101 —-73-0113

Fleming County — 1798-1815, 1817, 1819-1822,
1824-1829, 1831, 1833-1834, 1837-1875
73-0114 — 73-0119

Floyd County — 1793, 1837, 1840-1875
73-0120 —73-0121

Franklin County — 1795-1797, 1801 1831 1833-1875

73-0122 -73-0127

Fulton County — 1846-1875
73-0128 —73-0130

Gallatin County — 1799-1831, 1833, 1835-1836,
1840-1875
73-0131 —73-0133
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Garrard County — 1797, 1799-1830, 1833
1835-1875
73-0133 - 73-0139

Grant County — 1820-1831, 1833, 1835-1838,
1840-1852, 1854-1862, 1864-1875
73-0139 — 73-0141

Graves County — 1824-1831, 1833-1835, 1837,
1839-1875
73-0141-73-0146

Grayson County — 1810-1831, 1833-1834,
1836-1875
73-0146 - 73-0148

Green County — 1795-1837, 1840-1875
73-0149 —73-0152

Greenup County - 1839-1875
73-0152 - 73-0156

Hancock County - 1829-1833, 1835-1875
73-1056-73-0157

Hardin County — 1793-1797, 1799-1817,
1819-1830, 1833-1834, 1836-1837, 1839- 1846,
1848-1875

'73-0158 - 73-0165

Harlan County —1820-1875
73-0166 - 73-0167

Harrison County — 1794-1797, 1799-1819,
1821-1830, 1833-1835, 1837-1875
73-0167 - 73-0173

Hart County — 1819-1831, 1833, 1835, 1837,
1840-1875
73-0173 - 73-0177

Henderson County — 1799-1837, 1839-1875
73-0177 - 73-0181

Henry County — 1799, 1806, 1808-1809,
1811-1830, 1833-1835, 1837-1875
73-0182 - 73-0186, 73-0364

Hickman County — 1822-1829, 1834-1875
73-0186 —73-0189



Hopkins County — 1807-1808, 1811-1817,
1819-1830, 1833-1834, 1835, 1837-1862,
1864-1875

73-0189 —73-0193

Jackson County — 1858-1875
73-0193 - 73-0194

Jefferson County — 1789-1797, 1799-1814,
1817-1831, 1833-1875
73-0194 — 73-0226

Jessamine County — 1799-1813, 1815-1817,
1819-1831, 1833-1835, 1837-1838, 1840-1875
73-0227 — 73-0230

Johnson County — 1844-1846, 1848-1875
73-0230-73-0232

Kenton County — 1840-1875
73-0232 — 73-0240

Knox County — 1800-1813, 1815-1875
73—0240 — 73-0242

Larue County 1843-1875
73-0242 — 73-0245

Laurel County — 1827-1831, 1833, 1835-1830,
1840-1855, 1857-1875
73-0244

Lawrence County — 1822-1829, 1831, 1833-1834,
1837-1838, 1840,1869, 1871, 1873-1875
73-0245 — 73-0247

Letcher County — 1843-1852, 1854-1861, 1865,
1867-1875
73-0248

Lewis County — 1807-1812, 1814-1817, 1819-1821,
1823-1831, 1833-1870, 1872-1875
73-0249 — 73-0252

Lincoln County — 1787-1809, 1811-1817, 1819,
1821, 1823-1831, 1833-1870, 1872-1875
73-0252 — 73-0258

Livingston County — 1800-1831, 1833, 1835-1838,
1840-1861, 1869-1875
73-0258 — 73-0261

Logan County— 1792-1817, 1819-1826, 1828-1831,
1833-1839, 1841-1867, 1869
73-0262 — 73-0264

Lyon County — 1863-1875
73-0265 — 73-0266

Madison Coynty — 1787-1831, 1833, 1837,
1841-1847, 1849-1855, 1861, 1864, 1868-1871,
1874

73-0267 —73-0273

Marion County — 1834-1837, 1850-1856, 1858-1875
73-0277 —73-0279

Marshall County — 1843-1875
73-0277 —73-0279

Mason County — 1790-1797, 1799-1831, 1833-1875
73-0279 —73-0280

McCracken County — 1824-1829, 1831, 1833, 1835,
1837-1838, 1840-1875
73-0288 —73-0291

McLean County — 1855-1875
73-0291 —73-0293

Meade County — 1824-1829, 1831, 1833, 1835,
1837-1865
73-0293 — 73-0294

Mercer County — 1789, 1794-1797, 1798-1800,
1808-1813, 1815-1831, 1833-1844, 18461875
73-0295 — 73-0302

Metcalfe County — 1860-1875
73-0302 — 73-0303

Monroe County — 1820—183 1, 1833-1837,
1839-1875
73-0303 - 73-0306

Montgomery County — 1797, 1799-1827,
1829-1831, 1833-1835, 1837-1838, 1840-1875
73-0307 - 73-0311

Morgan County — 1823-1831, 1833, 1835-1838,

1840-1849, 1851-1862, 1865-1875
73-0312 - 73-0313
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Muhlenberg County — 1799-1860 (missing most of
the 1830s, 1840s, and 1850s)
73-0314 — 73-0315

Nelson County — 1792-1797, 1799-1831,
1835-1841, 1845-1875
73-90-65 —73-90-66

Nicholas County — 1800-1827, 1829-1831,
1833-1836, 1838-1875
73-0322 —73-0326

Ohio County — 1799-1809, 1811-1817, 1819-1831,
1833, 1835, 1837-1839, 1842-1852, 1857,
1859-1866, 1868-1871, 1875

73-0326 — 73-0329

Oldham County — 1824 — 1850, 182401875
73-0329 - 73-0332

Owen County — 1819-1831, 1834-1837, 1839-1846,
1848, 1850-1864, 1866-1875
73-0332 —73-0338

Owsley County 1844-1875
73-0332 —73-0335

Pendleton County 1799-1831, 1833, 1835-1836,
1838, 1840-1871, 1873-1875
73-0338 — 73-0341

Perry County 1821 — 1875
73-341 — 73-0343

Pike County 1823-1829, 1831, 1833-1836,
1854-1855, 1859-1861, 1865-1872, 1874
73-0343 — 73-0344

Powell County 1852 — 1861, 1863-1875
73-0344 — 73-0345

Pulaski County — 1799-1829, 1831, 1833-1834,
1837-1841, 1843-1845, 1847, 18%8, 1851—1875
73-0346 — 73-0351 '

Rockcastle County — 1811-1817, 1819-1822,
1824-1831, 1834-1835, 1837, 1839-1875
73-0351 — 73-0354

Rowan County — 1856-1875
73-0354
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Russell County — 1826-1829, 1831, 1833, 1835-1875
73-0354 — 73-0357 '

Scott County — 1794-1797, 1799-1812, 1814-1817,
1819-1823, 1825-1831, 1833, 1835-1875
73-0358 — 73-0363

Shelby County — 1792, 1794-1797, 1799-1809,
1811-1817, 1819-1830, 1835-1837, 1840-1875
73-0364 — 73-0371

Simpson County — 1819-1831, 1833, 1835, 1837-1875
73-0372 — 73-0375

Spencer County — 1824-1831, 1833-1835, 1837,
1840-1853, 1855-1862, 1865-1873, 1875-1875
73-0375 - 73-0377

Taylor County — 1849-1874
73-0377 —73-0379

Todd County — 1820-1830, 1833-1835, 1837-1875
73-0379 — 73-0384

Trigg County — 1820-1831, 1833-1853, 1856-1875
73-0384 — 73-0388

Trimble County — 1837, 1840-1872, 1874-1875
73-0388 — 73-0389

Union County — 1811-1875
73-0389 — 73-0393

Warren County — 1797-1875
73-0393 — 73-0400

Washington County — 1792, 1794-1797, 1799-1809,
1811-1817, 1819-1830, 1833-1838, 1840-1875
73-0401 — 73—0406

Wayne County — 1801-1817, 1819, 1830, 1833,
1846, 1848-1875
73-0407 — 73-0411

Whitley County — 1819-1831, 1833, 1835-1875
73-0413 —73-0415

Woodford County — 1790-1797, 1799-1817,
1819-1830, 1833-1838, 1840, 1843-1875
73-0416 — 73-0421



